20 – 24 April 2020   print this page

Conference organizers:

Dunja Jutronić, University of Split, Croatia

Zvonimir Šikić, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Joseph Berkovitz, University of Toronto, Canada

David Davies, McGill University, Canada

Michel Ghins, Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium

James McAllister, University of Leiden, Netherlands

Flavia Padovani, Drexel University, Philadelphia, United States

Conference description:

Philosophy of science studies the foundations, methods, and implications of the sciences from a philosophical perspective. Classic topics in philosophy of science include the relation between theory and observation, the rational justification of scientific methods, the functions of experiment, and the interpretation of scientific theories such as quantum theory and evolution theory. Philosophers of science also frequently discuss such wider topics as cognition, the relation between science and the arts and culture, and the findings of history and social studies of science.

This annual international five-day conference is a forum for the presentation and discussion of new research in philosophy of science. Each year’s meeting focuses on three broad themes, but the organizers welcome papers in other topical areas of philosophy of science too. A session usually consists of a 45-minute paper followed by a 30-minute discussion period; extended lunch and coffee breaks are an important element of the programme. The atmosphere is informal and friendly. Whereas most participants are researchers in philosophy of science, the organizers encourage also scientists and scholars in history and social studies of science to participate.

Conference themes for 2020:

Philosophy of Biology

Cognitive Science

Feminism and Science

For students:

Advanced students in any of these fields are especially welcome: they may present a paper, benefit from informal discussion, or arrange with one of the organizers to write a report or an essay on the conference themes. Students may receive credit for their participation in the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System.

The conference will be held on the premises of the Inter-University Centre (IUC), Dubrovnik.

For accommodation, see here http://www.iuc.hr/accomodation.php or contact IUC office at iuc@iuc.hr for help.

Further information:

Please contact any of the following organizers for further information:

Dunja Jutronić: dunja.jutronic@ri.htnet.hr

James McAllister: j.w.mcallister@phil.leidenuniv.nl

Zvonimir Šikić: zsikic@math.hr


Joseph Berkowitz, University of Toronto

David Davies, McGill University, Montreal

Michel Ghins, Université Catholique Louvain

Dunja Jutronić, University of Split

James McAllister, University of Leiden

Flavia Padovani, Drexel University, Philadelphia

Zvonimir Šikić, University of Zagreb

Emeritus directors:

Lars Bergstrom, Stockholm University, Sweden

James Robert Brown, University of Toronto, Canada